Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
November 27 2020 5 27 /11 /November /2020 17:53

I realised several years ago that I am a little like Charlie George, the Arsenic legend (or Chelsea's Alan Hudson).

 Tis all the more surprising, since I dinnae support Arsenil. Our Charlie was one of the most talented players of his generation. If he had been Dutch, he would more than possibly have fitted into their total football outfit of the 1970s. Instead, it was Charlie's misfortune that the pragmatic Alf Ramsey didn't have any time for this maverick. Alf preferred less gifted players who were a safe pair of hands. This partially explains why Blighty went into decline on the international stage after the heights of 1966.

Meanwhile back at the ranch, I too am a maverick (or square peg). I am really talented (or so I have been told), but I am not someone that many small minds in HR departments would entertain. The Northern Irish business community doesn't really possess too many real entrepreneurs. This is why the employers in Ulster and me wouldn't really be on the same page. I'm actually more of a risk-taker than most of them.

This is why I will probably never be welcomed into the bosom of any employer any time soon. Like Charlie or Alan, I'm just a little too awkward for folk who demand 'compliance'. (As Chrissie Hynde sang in 'Talk Of The Town' "It's hard to live by the rules. I never could and still never do." 😅)

 I'm a creative soul and I like to think outside of the box. Such attributes are anathema for many employers. It has been suggested that I apply for work with the civil service, or apply for this, or apply for that. Most of these jobs require folk to execute someone else's wishes. It's not really my domain. I might as well apply for the role of a circus acrobat than apply for any such lousy roles in bureaucracy.

Well, I have finally hit upon my true vocation over two months ago, and I am now engaged in the rather tiresome process of trying to persuade the powers that be to create a role for me, since this society appears to have no relevant role pour moi. I'm having to lobby politicians and civil servants (yuk!), but I am an old hand at trying to engage politicos. I am a wordsmith, so I do write with authority. When an elected representative gets an email from me, it's like receiving a message from their old headmaster.😅

Anyway, I will fight tooth and claw to get this role created. I have belatedly found my 'mission'.
In the meantime, I'm still in Charlie George (or Alan Hudson) territory.

Alan Hudson only won two England caps, while Charlie only ended up playing once for England, which was bizarre, and even then he got hauled off after about an hour in a friendly match against the Republic of Ireland. I can definitely relate to that!

Share this post
Repost0

comments